Interactive Whiteboards and Screencasting, My First Screencast

For this project I used the whiteboard screencasting app Vittle. Vittle allows users to create a prerecorded presentation that is interactive and engaging. There are two versions of Vittle on the Apple App Store. I used the free version for obvious reasons, but there is a paid version with many more features for $8.99.images

 

This was my first experience using a screencasting program so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Upon entering the app, however, I was presented with several tutorials I could use to quickly learn the ins and outs of the app. Within seconds, I was able to upload photos and annotate them in any way I wished. After five minutes, I had created an entire video introducing a lesson for a Kansas Geography class. See what it’s all about!

This app was surprisingly great for being free. I can definitely see myself incorporating this app into my classroom in the near future because of its ease of use and adaptability. Because of this, I will most likely purchase this app later down the road when funds are more expendable. It can be used in a verity of different ways. For example, if I were sick and could not attend class, I could create a short five or ten minute video covering the material planned for that day. This would allow class to flow normally and take a lot of stress off of the substitute.

Not many downsides exist with this app, which is great. The free version only allows videos to span one minute, which makes the paid version worth it. My chief complaint would be that editing is impossible. If I made a mistake while recording my video, I am forced to re-record the entire thing. It would be nice if I could crop the audio or add to it, but since videos are only one minute in length it isn’t such a big deal. I highly recommended this app and discovering applications for it in classrooms of any age, content, or intelligence. Go give it a try yourself!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *